Town of Otter Creek – Reconvene of Caucus Meeting – January 21, 2025

Otter Creek Town Hall - E5905 County Road S, Wheeler WI 54772

Attendees:

Chair LeAnn Ralph* Supervisor 1 Cecil Hayes* Supervisor 2 Bob Bernier* Clerk/Treasurer Bev Bernier

22 Residents (26 including board): Denise Axness, Gary Axness, Renee Carrell, Jeff Dehnhoff, Lorri Dehnhoff, Ronald Dehnhoff, Susan Dehnhoff, Roberta Guidaboni, Brian Hawkins, Kelley Hayes, Jordan Hurst, Chad Mogen, Tina Peterson, Jon Robinson, Randy Simpson, Tanner Sinz, Dale Solheim, Lori Sudbrink, Jane Utpadel, Randy Utpadel, Sharla Utpadel, Mark Warner

___2___Guests - Non-residents: Carter Hartling, Patrol Deputy DC Sheriff's Department and Brennan Porter, Sergeant DC Sheriff's Department

*Board Members

Meeting was called to order by Chair Ralph at 7:07 p.m.

Chair LeAnn Ralph made the following opening comment:

I am calling the reconvene of the Town of Otter Creek Caucus to order at 7:01 p.m. State law requires a reconvene of the caucus within 10 days of the original caucus date. This reconvene caucus is necessary because a non-resident voted at last week's caucus on January 14, 2025. That is the reason you need to sign the poll book or provide proof of residency tonight. Election fraud is taken very seriously, and the fine, if convicted, per Wis. Stat. 12.3 is: Election fraud is a Class I felony and if convicted, possible penalties are up to a \$10,000 fine and/or 6 years in prison. So again, you must be a qualified elector of the Town of Otter Creek to nominate or vote tonight.

Advertising had been done on the Town of Otter Creek website, posted on the town hall door and two designated sign posts in the town.

At the January 14, 2025 town caucus, there was only one candidate nominated for the Town chair and Town Supervisor 1 position, so those two candidates will appear on the April 1, 2025 ballot. At that meeting, there were more than 2 people nominated for the Supervisor 2 position, and a vote was taken to narrow down the list from 3 to 2 candidates. Even after clarifying who is eligible to vote, a non-resident participated in voting, so we are here tonight to nominate, and vote on if needed, candidates for the Supervisor 2 position.

There are two ways available for the process of nominating people for the town supervisor 2 position, verbal nominations from the floor or paper ballot. Can I have a motion for either a verbal nomination or paper ballot nomination? Randy Simpson made a motion to nominate by

paper ballot, second by Cecil Hayes, MC. As Ralph was not running for the Supervisor 2 position, it is acceptable that she chairs this reconvene of caucus.

The Supervisor 2 position tonight is for a two-year term, starting in April, 2025. Paper ballots were handed out and returned to Brian Hawkins and Clerk Bernier. Brian read the nominations, which were Bob Bernier and Jeff Dehnhoff. Kelley Hayes made a motion to accept the two candidates for the supervisor 2 position and to close all nominations for the supervisor 2 position, second by Sharla Utpadel, MC.

Since there is opposition for the Supervisor 2 position, it needs to be determined in what order the names will appear on the April 1, 2025 election ballot. The Clerk will write the candidates names on paper and have a random drawing of the name to appear first on the ballot. Sergeant Brennan Porter drew the name of Bob Bernier. The April 1, 2025 ballot will list Bob Bernier, followed by Jeff Dehnhoff as candidates for the supervisor 2 position.

The Clerk will meet with the candidates to have the necessary forms for the candidates completed.

Jeff Dehnhoff made a motion to adjourn the 2025 Reconvene of Caucus, second by Cecil Hayes, MC. Meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Bev Bernier, Clerk Treasurer.